FAQ - dermatomycoses
(Powered by Yahoo! Answers)

Which one of the following is not one of four classes of fungal disease?

A) superficial mycoses
B) systemic mycoses
C) gastrointestinal mycoses
D) dermatomycoses

C and D are both incorrect. The question is flawed. The 4 types are superficial, cutaneous, subcutaneous and systemic. Dermatophytosis is a type of cutaneous fungal infection caused by dermatophytes but other fungi such as yeasts may cause as many as half of all cutaneous fungal infections. Gastrointestinal might be considered a type of systemic fungal infection in some instances.

Dermatophytosis are caused by dermatophytes. These are molds that grow in and on the skin and hair and nails; the keratinized tissues. The term "phytosis" is used instead of mycosis to distinguish them from dermatomycosis. Dermatomycosis are caused by Candida albicans and other fungi and may involve many other tissue types beyond keratinized tissue. Again, neither C or D are among the 4 classic groups because C is just wrong and D is not sufficiently specific. For example, you could have cutaneous (dermatomycosis) lesions that resulted from a very serious systemic fungal infection. If it was treated only with topical antifungals that are typically used for dermatophyte infections, it could be a fatal mistake. In contrast a dermatophytosis are seldom dangerous ... though very unpleasant.  (+ info)

Leave a message about 'dermatomycoses'

We do not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any content in this site. Click here for the full disclaimer.